League of Women Voters of Clackamas County

About the League
Contact Us
Voters' Choice Tea




January 10, 2017: LWVOR Legislative Process Day

January 19: General Meeting

January 27: Lunch & Learn 



 January General Meeting          

Member Discussion on Civil Discourse and League’s Areas of Focus for 2017

All members urged to attend!

When:  Thursday, January 19, 1:30-3:30 p.m.
Where:  Oswego Pointe Club House, 5065 Foothills Drive, Lake Oswego

You won’t want to miss our two-part January General Meeting.  The first half will be devoted to the timely topic of the League’s role in promoting civil discourse.  The tumultuous 2016 election season may be over, but emotions are still raw, and many citizens have fears about our country’s future. Given the extremely polarized and volatile nature of rhetoric today, what can we as League members do to encourage civil discourse among citizens, elected officials, and the media?  Action Chair Marge Easley will share what other Leagues and organizations have done, gather your input, and suggest steps we might take to submit a civil discourse concurrence position to the LWVOR Convention in May.

During the second half of the meeting, Program Chair Libby Medley will take us through state and local League positions, spurring us to discuss what governmental issues are most important to us today, both in terms of increasing our knowledge and using this knowledge through advocacy. This “Program Planning” exercise for 2017-19 is a foundational League process and a powerful tool to influence the future of our communities, our state, and our entire organization. Your participation is essential to keeping us on track. Don’t miss your chance to add your experiences and insights to the decision-making question: how can we best respond to the demands our government faces in the coming months and years? Program planning grids for local and state League positions can be found at the following links.

LWVCC Positions

LWVOR Positions

DIRECTIONS: Take State Street in downtown Lake Oswego to Foothills Road; follow Foothills Road to a 3-way stop; keep right; go downhill to the left-turn lane; turn left onto Foothills Drive; the building straight ahead is the Club House.


P.O. Box 411, Lake Oswego, OR 97034 | Contact us: lwvclackamas@lwvclackamas.org
Corporate Affiliates